I don’t want to know how long it’s been since I’ve posted. Can you tell I work retail during the beginning of the holiday season?

And don’t have wifi…whatever, I can make excuses for hours. Might as well just stop whining and make a damn post 🙂

Anyway, I’ve completed the Stained Glass Afghan!

20141028_102323 20141028_102253

Here it is in all its glory! It’s super hard to take pictures of an afghan without a bed big enough to display it 😦 I’ll tell my husband that this means we need a queen-size bed…that’ll work, right? It’s for my crocheting!

So this blanket is joined, edged with black, and ready to hopefully find a new home! It’s all listed on Etsy and expectantly waiting for its new owner. Feels good.

I also got bored one night and made a quick hat/gloves combo for the hell of it:

20141028_102113 20141028_102020

Don’t know why I didn’t take a picture of just the hat. Hmm. Weird. Anyway, I like them. Also on Etsy now. I feel so professional!

And now, because I’m apparently a glutton for punishment, I started another project. No, I’m not done with the Batman afghan for my brother yet. His birthday is in about a week, so…oops. I never promised him that that’s when he’d get it, though, it was just my unofficial plan. I may crochet something extra, a little Batman amigurumi or something to send along with it. That’ll make up for it.

No, I started something for a different family member. My grandfather-in-law is a very sweet man. He has a lady friend whom he loves very much (she’s widowed, he’s a widower, they both need someone in their lives and they work very well together), and he asked me to make her an afghan. She graduated from the local high school and still has a lot of pride for them, so he wants it to be in those colors and with the mascot.

I found some clip-art of the mascot (a bulldog) and used a site that makes a chart out of a picture. I can’t really share that pic just because I’m too lazy to take a screenshot and reupload and all that crap, but that’s what I did. I’m doing a double crochet for each “box” on the graph, hopefully making a picture out of crochet.

Basically, like the Batman one, but making it up instead of someone nicely writing it out for me. But I’m up to the toes of the dog and it’s working out so far!

The problem is that it’s not going to be big enough by far. I knew that, but the site I used only had a few size settings, and the biggest was 160 stitches across. I didn’t know how to properly translate that for a king-size bed, so I’m just doing that number. My idea is to make this dog and see how big that rectangle is. Then I’ll use other things like the name of the school, pawprints, and maybe the names of the couple to kind of make a patchwork crochet blanket? It may either be the best idea I’ve ever had or the dumbest. We’ll see where it goes.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I still love that afgan, it’s so beautiful.

    I think the patchwork blanket idea would be great! At the very least, if the patchwork idea fails, you could always just gift it as a lap blanket!

Leave a Reply

