I need more sleep…

…because I just crocheted half a row of my red shawl with the entirely wrong hook. And it took me forever to notice.

Last night, I was experimenting with various projects to use up a few leftover-half-skeins, and a ball of mystery yarn I bought at a garage sale. During the chaos, I needed my E hook for something, so I took it out of my shawl and sort of held its place with my H hook.

Yep, this evening I picked up the shawl and started happily crocheting along with my H hook…in my sock yarn shawl that needs an E hook. Suddenly I realized “something seems weird here”, and felt like a total moron. Thankfully it looked off enough that I could easily tell where I had accidentally switched hooks, and frogged it back to that point. And also luckily, it was a chain and SC row, so I wasn’t frogging an hour of work. Just a few minutes’ worth.

And the shawl is no worse for wear:

wpid-20140623_214338.jpg

It’s basically at a “shawlette” size, just big enough to barely wrap around my shoulders. I’m not sure how big it’s going to end up.

But I am LOVING the colors. I’ve always been a fan of red, it’s such a confident color. And with my low self-confidence, I’m really trying to add those “pow!” items to my wardrobe. If I have the guts to rock a red shawl, this one will probably become one of my favorites. Or maybe my mother will like it as a birthday present if I don’t have the guts to wear it myself ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s about all I had to share for today, I didn’t start any new WIPs last night. And I haven’t had much time to crochet today, just a little bit now on my shawl. But I have the next two days off work, so I’m sure I’ll do something interesting soon! I’ll be back!

2 thoughts on “I need more sleep…

    • Thanks! I’ve now finished it, but immediately afterwards left for a long weekend far from home. So I’ll share all those proud pics in a few days…and I think I will try to wear this myself!

Leave a Reply

