I started another WIP, but it wasn’t my fault!

Ok, so I had a planned Hobby Lobby trip today. My husband and I needed to do some shopping, and while he did the boring guy stuff he dropped me off to do my yarn shopping. We make a good team like that. I needed more yarn for my rug, I used up all the red I had (which was the whole point of the project, using up that leftover skein, but whatever…)

Well, it turns out, Hobby Lobby doesn’t sell Red Heart anymore. I know, right? I swear they used to have a huge yarn selection. But today, they had exactly one Red Heart skein left, and it was marked down on clearance and not the color I needed. They had a few Lion Brand skeins, but 99% of it was their own store brand. I can live with this fact, it just surprised me. I never thought Walmart would be the only place I could find Red Heart anymore!

But anyway, I digress. I’m stubborn, so I had to buy something. My husband had given me a budget, and I don’t often get to yarn shop. So I searched and searched, until something rainbow caught my eye.

Baby Bee Sweet Delights Pomp yarn. I know, that’s too long of a name. But I guess they can’t call everything “I Love This Yarn ____ ” It was the “Crayon” colorway, and full of so many pretty colors, with a tiny metallic strand circling the whole thing, so it has a little bit of sparkle. And I could afford 5 skeins within my budget, which was over a thousand yards, so I had no choice! I had to buy it!

Looking around for a pattern, I discovered the “Spring Into Summer” Blanket from the Felted Button website. I’m not sure if there’s a way to link things in a pretty way on here, so here’s the page: http://www.feltedbutton.com/2014/03/spring-into-summer-with-free-crochet.html

It’s intended for Red Heart Unforgettable, and I had been meaning to buy that for a while to make this blanket. In fact, I looked for a similar substitute when I couldn’t find RHSS today, so I could make this. Instead, I found this Hobby Lobby brand that I think will also work nicely.

And it started off gorgeous:

Image

Right away, I was just thinking “holy crap this was the perfect choice, SO MUCH RAINBOW!”

And it just got better from there:

Image

Squee!

Image

They blend together so beautifully!

Image

It’s actually creating some stripes of similar colors, which I’m ok with. I’m sure that won’t be true for the entire blanket.

I need to go make dinner, but I just had to tell you about this.

Leave a Reply

