I…finished…MY SHAWL!!!

I mean, its blocking right now. And I need to weave in the yarn ends. But I have scarves that I wear that still have yarn hanging off, so I’m not counting that as being unfinished in my world. 

Here’s the picture you’d better have been waiting for…

Image

My pretty-ass purple shawl being all blocked and shit. I love how that lace looks.

Just check out the difference between the lace pre-blocking:

Image

Cool, right? But not pretty? Then check it out blocking:

Image

It just amazes me. I mean, I’ve made this shawl before (with the wrong yarn), so I knew it would be a drastic change. The pattern even says you NEED to specifically open up the lace in blocking because of this change. But it still shocks me anyway how much it changes.

I cannot wait for this to be dry. I don’t know how long it’ll take at all, so I’ll probably leave it on there for a good 24 hours. It was already drying off as I pinned it, but it’s definitely still very damp.

Except I’m not sure what to do with it now. I’m not a shawl person, I just love making them. It’s not really my style. 

I could sell it, but my Etsy store is a failure and I don’t know another way.

So I guess I made a pretty shawl to look at. Oh well. I’m still considering this a worthwhile project!

6 thoughts on “I…finished…MY SHAWL!!!

    • It’s a paid pattern on Ravelry, so I’m not sure how to link it. But it’s called “Transition Shawl” on there. It was my first paid Ravelry pattern and totally worth it 🙂

  1. Beautiful! Thanks for showing the dramatic change before and after blocking. I tend to choose projects that don’t call for blocking, but this makes me want to try it!

Leave a Reply

