An idea born in stupidity

Last night, I pulled an all-nighter. It’s a long story. The point is, I wanted to crochet to keep myself awake. And the projects I’m already working on are boring and would put me to sleep. Nothing against them, it’s just hard to stay awake to row after row of the same thing that I’ve been working on for months. New is fun.

So I bought some Simply Soft. Not exactly fancy, but this was impulse yarn and I was at Walmart. Plus, I’ll always have a soft spot (ha) in my heart for Simply Soft. It’s nice stuff for a budget. I got some blue/green stuff called “Peacock Feather”, because I loved the colors. When I bought it, I didn’t know what to do with it, so I got two skeins because that’d be plenty for a scarf or hat or something.

But when I began Ravelry-searching, I noticed some granny square patterns popping up, and a couple textured blanket squares. And that gave me an idea. I love Simply Soft. I love colors. I love projects that don’t become row after row after endless row of the same thing.

With a textured blanket comprised of different squares, I’d never get bored! And with different colors, it’d look super awesome!

So I looked up a few different square patterns last night, and began working with Red Heart’s “Checkerboard Textures Throw” CAL. I assume it’s ok to link it here because it’s a free pattern on their site: http://www.redheart.com/blog/join-us-checkerboard-textures-throw-crochet-along. It’s a CAL in progress, a square pattern every 2 weeks, so for now they only have like 5 squares up. But it was a start for me.

So far I have 2 squares done and a third started:

Image

 

We’ll call this Square A…of course, the token granny square. You just have to have one. I know it looks slightly crappy, but this is unblocked.

Image

Square B, I think they called it something like Cross Stitch. It’s crossed DC stitches, pretty fun to do.

Image

Detail pic of the stitches in Square B.

After realizing I want to do this, I picked up more Simply Soft today in blue, green, and a blue/purple multi. I love my multicolored, and it’s how this started with the blue/green. I can’t do only solids now!

Image

 

 

The top is the blue/green I originally picked up (the second skein), the rest is the new stuff today. I highly doubt this is all of it. But someone (my fiance) is imposing a “budget” and saying I “can’t splurge on yarn every day”…he just doesn’t understand 🙂

The question, however, is…

1. Do I make 4/5ish squares, and then several different colors of those squares (so square A in blue, green, purple…square B in blue, green purple…etc.)?

2. Or just make this completely random and just make the squares I find in the colors I have at the time (squares A, B and C in blue/green, squares D, E and F in solid green, etc.)?

I’m leaning towards the second option because it lets me do a lot more different squares. But share your opinions, I always like hearing from people who’ve done stuff like this before!

Also…it doesn’t seem like the Red Heart pattern I’m working with will be put up fast enough for my obsession with this blanket. I don’t want to take like a year to make this thing. Plus, their pattern calls for like 10 of the squares to be granny squares, and I’d rather have them all different (or my option 1).

Please help! Show me patterns for different afghan squares! I like different textures. Of course I’d prefer free sources, I’m a huge fan of free Ravelry patterns. But I don’t even know where to look! I’ve found all different granny ones on Ravelry, and I guess I’m ok with that, but I’d prefer that this not be 90% granny if I can help it.

This was an oddly long post for me. Hopefully that’s a good sign for my excitement with this project!

Leave a Reply

