I have a problem…an AWESOME one!

I learned to crochet approximately one year and one month ago.

My mom was making homemade Christmas presents comprised of a loaf of home-baked bread and a couple hand-crocheted dishcloths wrapped around it. I know, great idea! I might repeat that myself someday when I can actually visit family and don’t need to ship presents. Anyway…

She realized that crocheting two dishcloths per present took a long freaking time. And her daughter was visiting for a week or so before we all went to family Christmas. She put two and two together, and enlisted me to help.

It took hours that fateful afternoon for me to figure out how to single crochet in a row. My tension was horrible, stitches came out all different sizes, and some cloths were better sized for a giant than a human. But then it clicked.

Even though I wasn’t very good at this, it really felt right. It felt like something I could do…that I should be doing. And that’s when the addiction began.

Except she didn’t teach me that there was anything but single crochet. And since we spent the next week and a half driving around and visiting family, I never looked it up online or anything. So I tried making a scarf comprised of single crochet, back and forth and back and forth and back and….yeah, it was taking a long ass time.

I clearly remember having the thought:

“This is crocheting? I’ve been doing it for like two weeks, how do I know everything? And why would people ever make entire scarves if this is taking so damn long?!”

Thankfully, I eventually returned to my own home, and looked up other scarf patterns. I didn’t know what I was going to find, but I figured there had to be something other than this eleventy-bazillion stitches in identical rows. I googled it, and…

“Oh.”

There’s a whole world out there!

I can do other stitches! And add spaces in between them! And I can make other shapes besides rectangles! And, and, and, and…it went on and on. Sadly, I think I was actually announcing all of these to my fiance. Poor guy, I don’t know why he sticks around.

Since that fateful lesson and subsequent personal discovery, I’ve learned so much of this art. I absolutely LOVE the fact that I’ve been teaching myself this shit for over a year now, and I still have so much more to learn. And when I compare my earliest projects…

Image

to some of my most recent…

Image

Well, I’m kind of proud. And at the same time, I’m super excited that this is nowhere near the end. I have so much more to learn! I’m gonna make even cooler stuff!
Also, I’ve gotten over my early “everything can and should be made in multicolored yarn” phase. Well, sort of. This is a current WIP, a blanket for a friend’s wedding:
Image
I’m learning that there’s a time and place for multicolored yarn. Mostly. I still love it a little too much.
Ok, I’m kind of rambling here. But I hope that gives a good idea of where I started, where I am now, and the point of all this. I want an outlet to show and talk to others about crochet projects! I’m starting to mess with freehanding projects, and hopefully that’ll learn to making my own patterns someday.
Just think of this whole blog as one big WIP.
Leave a Reply

